Benet Academy Alumni Inducted into ESCC Hall of Fame


Benet Academy

(Left to Right) Dave Sobolewski ’11, Coach Gene Heidkamp, and Frank Kaminsky ’11 at the ESCC Hall of Fame Induction.

Editor’s Note: This piece was also posted in the Benet Herald 2023 Graduation Edition.

This April, two Benet Alumni were inducted into the East Suburban Catholic Conference (ESCC) Hall of Fame. Frank Kaminsky (‘10) and Dave Sobolewski (‘11) received the highest honor a player or coach can achieve in the ESCC. The ESCC is the conference Benet Academy has athletically competed in for the past 33 years. This year, twelve ESCC players and coaches were admitted into the Hall of Fame, including Kaminsky and Sobolewski. Kaminsky is a 7’0’’ guard who was drafted ninth overall by the Charlotte Hornets in the 2015 NBA Draft. Before being drafted, Kaminsky played at the University of Wisconsin, where he set the school’s single-game scoring record (43 points) and was named All-Big 10, All-American, and the 2015 Men’s National College Basketball Player of the Year. Kaminsky currently plays for the Houston Rockets. At Benet, he was named first-team All-State by the Chicago Sun-Times and IBCA after averaging 14.2 points, 8.7 rebounds, 4.2 blocks, and 2.8 assists per game during his senior season. He led Benet to a 29-1 season and a strong playoff run, falling just short of the 2010 IHSA State Finals. Kaminsky was also named All-Area, All-Conference, and East Suburban Catholic Conference Player of the Year. His jersey number, 44, was retired in a ceremony at Benet in November of 2017. Kaminsky’s Benet teammate, Dave Sobolewski was also inducted. Sobolewski was selected first-team Class 4A All-State by the Chicago Sun-Times and was a 3-time All-Conference selection, finishing fifth in voting for 2011 Mr. Basketball of Illinois. Sobolewski averaged 15.2 points, 6.1 assists, 3.8 rebounds, and 2.7 steals per game as he helped the 2010 Redwings crack the Top 10 in the USA Today National High School Rankings. Sobolewski continued his career at Northwestern University. Congratulations to ESCC Hall of Famers Frank Kaminksy and Dave Sobolewski!